Iowa Vocal Jazz Championships

The first Vocal Jazz competition was held in 2007 and was titled "The Best Of Iowa Jazz Choir Showcase".  In 2010 the name was changed to the Iowa Vocal Jazz Championships.

The event was to help promote the growth of vocal jazz in Iowa by providing a venue where jazz choirs of all classes could perform representing the best vocal jazz programs in their respective classes.  Over the years, schools considering the addition of vocal jazz grew and many districts added programs for students.

In 2017, 32 ensembles from school districts around the state of Iowa were represented at the Championships.  The event continues to grow and recognize the outstanding student musicians and directors in the state who devote their time and talents to vocal jazz.

IVJC Board members and Co-Chairs


  • Linda Vanderpool
  • Tyler Thomas


  • Caitlin Brannaman


  • Amy Farley - NA
  • Heather Nail - Valley HS  
  • Jeff Knutson - Waukee HS


  • Joel Foreman - Solon
  • Thad Wilkins - Mt Vernon
  • Bradley Wilson - CPU  


  • Kelsey Burns - Sibley O
  • Grace Huber - Prairie HS CR
  • Tanner Stutzman - Gilbert HS  


  • Jason Behrens - Newman Catholic
  • Kathy Greve - Harris Lake Park  
  • Ryan  Schuknecht - Akron Westfield  

Visit our website for more information!

Click Here